Reviews

Jonathan and Mary Kennedy
5.0 out of 5 stars “Great book!”
November 16, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Randy Eberle is a terrific author. Definitely one to watch out for.


Marie-NMST blog
5.0 out of 5 stars  “Eerie! Mind blowing! Captivating!!”
September 14, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

WHOA! My mind is kind of blown, right now. The synopsis totally peaked my interest so I had no choice but to one click. Yeah, I’d agree with those of you who say the synopsis is a bit too revealing…however, there still managed to be plenty of surprises and twists to have me stunned, shocked and thrown for a loop or two.

Aside from a few editing touch ups this story was very well written. I’m not familiar with this author’s work but I’m definitely interested in checking out anything else he may have written.

While my reading preferences are most forms of romance and my TV/movie preferences are all thing supernatural, this book gave me the best of both worlds. It was a captivating read that I could totally imagine on the big screen or at least my flat screen on a late night under a comfy blanket on my couch with all my lights off. This is most definitely something I would choose if Netflix recommended it in my menu. The way it was written, the imagery provided had every scene playing in detail behind my minds eye. I could literally see it all unfold which made it all that more eerie!!

Really, I’m just in awe of what I just read. I enjoyed every bit of it.


BlueEyes
5.0 out of 5 stars “only the purple glow of twilight as proof of its existence.”
December 3, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

This is a thriller of a book, dark and twisted with heartbreak and a story that continues over several years. Beautiful writing that paints vivid pictures for the reader:
“Dead ivy crawled up along every inch of the buildings surface, from foundation to gutter, like thousands of long, skeletal fingers reaching toward the sky. It seemed plausible that the deceased ivy was the mortar that held the building together.”
“These images continued to play before her mind’s eye, frame-by-frame, in a strobe-like fashion… fear and anguish gripped her heart until she thought she could no longer breathe…”
“It was as though the black sky above had opened up and birthed him, the cold rain an amniotic fluid from a celestial womb that continued to show Ian and the world around him.”
Not quite finished reading yet, but I will. If you like thrillers and don’t mind some gore and death, give this book and author a try.


William Ethan Koron
4.0 out of 5 stars “good vs evil”
March 15, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Reading Gemini took me back to my earliest days of reading horror in the late 80’s and 90’s, when authors cared more about plot and character development than shock and awe, back when horror meant more than whatever shtick is in vogue that day. Eberle has brought one of the oldest tropes of all time (i.e., good vs evil, light vs dark) to life in an original and well-developed story that makes the subject matter feel fresh and new. His characters are well-developed and suck you in emotionally so that you are vested enough to want to keep reading, and the plot is paced to a point where you can’t put the book down. You want to root for Justine and you want to know what happens to her.

But not only is Gemini a great work of horror, it is just plain and simple a great piece of writing in general. Eberle’s descriptive imagery and the way he frames each scene seems to ooze off the page with such ease that fellow writers should take notes. As a first novel, it is amazingly well put together and balanced. If it is any indication of future writing, Eberle is on his way to great things, and I for one look forward to reading more.

-William Ethan Koron


Dr. J.L. Kuchta
5.0 out of 5 stars “A very interesting g read.”
May 30, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I’m giving this novel five stars, even though there were some glaring spelling errors and grammatical mistakes. The reason for five stars is the concept of this novel is somewhat new and rather different than other horror novels. I kind of liked that. There are some things I would change if I were editing this book, but that’s just me and doesn’t in any way change the story. I’d certainly recommend it to others, and will look for other books by this author. Good job to the author!


interlude4me
4.0 out of 5 stars “Interesting characters”
December 17, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Filled with lots of interesting characters and twists and turns. This book was a quick read for me. What an unexpected ending! A little mystery and a bit of supernatural.


Mike Alan
5 out of 5 stars “Intriguing”
April 25, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

This is an interesting short novella.
I enjoyed reading. It had a good amount of surprises. I recommend this ebook.


C.D.
5.0 out of 5 stars “Like a freight train through a mountain of blood.”
September 29, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Gemini takes me back to my days in school reading Stephen King and Clive Barker for the first time, when Horror was new and brutal and terrifying and made you squirm in your seat. These days, many horror authors shy away from the uncomfortable bits, but this author isn’t one of them. Randy Eberle writes like a freight train through a mountain of blood. He barrels through a scene with an almost psychotic glee, and it’s glorious to behold. Gemini hits hard, right in the throat, and it isn’t afraid to kick you when you’re down. You really have to experience this one for yourself. Gemini is a monster of a book.


Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars “Very unique”
July 4, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I really enjoyed reading this book. The horror was uncommon and the story was twisted enough to keep me reading. I’m not gonna reduce my rating because of the errors. It’s definitely worth reading. I’m looking forward to other books from this author.


Jennifer h
5.0 out of 5 starsI “recommend this book”
March 1, 2017
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I really enjoyed this book. It kept me interested, was suspenseful, made me tear up a few times. I would recommend this book to anyone.


Debbie Rohrer
5.0 out of 5 stars “Five Stars”
September 10, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

great book


Page 2

Janet Mowry
5.0 out of 5 stars “Five Stars”
May 18, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Excellent!


Melissa Jeffries
5.0 out of 5 stars “Five Stars”
October 2, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Amazing writing kept me wanting more from start to finish.


CLOregon
5.0 out of 5 stars “Heart pounding thriller!”
March 17, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

This was one heck of a thriller. It grabs you right at the start and keeps you in it’s grip right until the end.
A thriller right up there with Stephen King. Quite a read!


Myra Espino
5.0 out of 5 stars “amazing read!!”
August 8, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

**Complimentary copy provided by author for an honest review**
First of all, I’m glad to receive/read and review Gemini.
Gemini is a great read..
I loved it!
From the start up to the last, I can’t put this book down.

The characters of this book are easy to relate with and get attached to.
I love how I got to easily feel their emotion on every part.
The story, well frankly speaking, I don’t normally read this kind of books but when I read the synopsis I was intrigued so I gave it a go.
I’m not disappointed with my decision!
I was glad that I read this because this book rocks!
The story is not predictable and it really left me curious.
The way the story ended, I didn’t see that one coming.
Amazing read!


KBIR
5.0 out of 5 starsYou will love it.
August 19, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Loved it. Great story. Kept you guessing till the last moment.


Georgianna
4.0 out of 5 stars “This book was fantastic. I haven’t read a good thriller in a …”
September 3, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

This book was fantastic. I haven’t read a good thriller in a while and this was the perfect book to reintroduce me to the genre. The story was really interesting and very original — I think all thrillers have that moment where you want to yell “you moron, stay away from there” and this book had its share of those moments, but it never really felt predictable.

The author did a great job of developing a very engaging story. The characters were well developed and I found myself rooting for/against them many times. I definitely recommend this story…it’s a great read overall!


curtis stoneking
5.0 out of 5 stars “Amazing…”
October 18, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

From start to finish, this book keeps you yearning for more. The authors description of the scenes is second to none. You can close your eyes and imagine EXACTLY what is taking place. I am very much looking forward to the next installment.


Keith Peters
4.0 out of 5 stars “Four Stars”
October 19, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Wonderful suspenseful and entertaining.


Eula L. Barlow
4.0 out of 5 stars “Four Stars”
January 3, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I enjoyed this book. I passed it on to my daughter.


Jim Heck
4.0 out of 5 stars “Like most in its genre”
August 10, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

Like most in its genre, Genesis by Randy Eberle, is driven more by plot than character. Adrienne has a new name, a young family, and has moved to a different town. After years of struggle, and supported by her loving husband, she appears to be overcoming the traumatic effects and the aftermath of the violent attack she suffered in high school. Her hopes are shattered when ghosts appear, first in her dreams, and force her to revisit unresolved issues from her past. I was hooked after the first few pages.

Sometimes I could anticipate what gruesome event awaited characters and wanted to warn them away, but every time I became complacent and thought I knew where the story was headed, Eberle would blindside me. I was kept just enough off kilter to regret the times I temporarily had to set the book aside to attend to other things.

The author sets his scenes with meticulous precision which might occasionally seem tedious to some readers. For those like me, however, who like to visualize what we read in detail, most of his precise descriptions are very welcome.

Of the more than one hundred books I read every year, ten or so are the first attempts by new authors. Many of these I dismiss as not showing promise. Others, like Genesis, intrigue me enough to keep my eye out for future offerings. I give Eberle’s first novel 4 stars.


Page 3

Joseph W. Van Meter
5.0 out of 5 stars “Good read, tip the waitress.”
November 28, 2016
Format: Paperback

I found this book leveling a table at a local Denny’s. After eating the food my phone was nearly dead and I really needed to use the restroom, so I took this with me and ended up so immersed by the plot that they though I skipped out on my bill and when I got up from the toilet both my legs were asleep.

The character development is very fluid and flows with the plot, though not too deep into each the writer tells you enough to identify each charcter and put a face to each one. While the book itself is driven by the plot and not the characters everything comes together well and makes this a hard book to put down.


Christina Badder
4.0 out of 5 stars “4 stars debut novel!”
August 9, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

An ARC was provided to me by the author in exchange for an honest review
This is not my typical genre, but I was intrigued by the synopsis, and decided to read it. My typical reads usually have some type of romance theme to them, but vary in degrees of YA / NA / PNR / CR / dark reads, thriller reads etc. So being this book is more classified as suspense / thriller / horror may be why I didn’t enjoy it as much other books I typically read.

What I did enjoy:

Randy does a nice job of bringing you into the story, introducing the characters, and snaring your attention from page 1. From the very first chapter I was wondering what was going to happen next, where the story was going to go, and even though from the synopsis I knew partly what would happen, it was still quite a shocker as the details played out. This book flowed throughout and was a quick read.

I connected with the main character Justine / Adrienne, I felt she was a really likeable character. She was relatable, you could feel her pain, her anguish, her fear, and you could sense her strength. I also liked her husband, Peter, although I did not connect with him as much. He sometimes seemed aloof and uncaring. I really liked Alex, her fiancé, who was unfortunately killed off in the beginning of the book. He felt warm and caring, (this is where parts of me with the romantic tendencies goes off to day dream).

Ian and Eli, or Angel and Demon, as I likened them, really were opposites in every way. Ian, beautiful, angel like, protector, loving, and Eli, disfigured / deformed, demon like, loathing, and full of hate. It was an age old epic battle of light and dark.

The suspense was there, and Randy will keep you guessing as to where and what will happen next. What secrets will be revealed, how or if evil will be defeated, and who will escape with their lives.

What I didn’t enjoy:

Being as this book wasn’t my normal genre, I still couldn’t help but look for the romance. I wanted more. I wanted to know more about Alex and Justine, I wanted to know more about how Peter and Adrienne met, I wanted more history, more back story, how did he win her heart? How did she get over Alex? How hard was it for her to fall in love again? How did the incident affect her ability to find love, to trust? But, it was just given, time had moved forward from the incident until the present time, and you took it for what it was. Also, as I mentioned earlier, I didn’t connect as well to Peter. I felt at times he truly was uncaring, cold, and aloof. I wanted warm, soothing, reassuring.

Randy has a flair for details, and sometimes that is good and sometimes it was bad. Some of the murder scenes (in my opinion) were quite detailed and graphic. Please remember, I am not a horror reader at heart, so maybe this is common in these themes. To me, (even as a medical professional, or maybe because I am a medical professional), it was quite gory and gruesome. I could have gone without some of the details. Did it enhance the story? I don’t really know. What it a shock factor? Yes.

Being a typical romance reader, this book really did not fit the mold I wanted. I wanted romance, drama / angst / problems, resolution, and an HEA. I got the romance (sort of), drama, problems (in spades), some resolution, and some closure. It did not have the ending I would have liked to have read, but alas, I am not the writer and can only go where I am directed. I was not left unsatisfied, only sad for the characters.

Overall:

I would give this book a strong 3.5 stars to a weak 4 stars for me. Again, this is my opinion only. I would recommend this book to someone looking for a new Horror / thriller novel by a new indie author. Sometimes that’s where we find the brightest gems!


IndianaMan
5.0 out of 5 stars “A well written and intelligent thriller! Breath of fresh air for the genre.”
August 19, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition

This is one of those rare books that you can’t put down. I would also like to point out that grammatical and spelling errors throw me right out of the reading mood, and thankfully, you will find none of that in Gemini. It is very well written and is super exciting. This is the kind of intelligent and suspenseful drama that is lacking in modern horror and it sure felt refreshing to find it again in Randy Eberle’s “Gemini”.


Cyril Patrick Feerick
5.0 out of 5 stars “Well worth it!”
September 9, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

“Gemini” by Randy Eberle is a book that you can get lost in and forget the rest of the world for little while. Horror within humanity is the theme with a dark and gritty feel. There are some very interesting twists and turns that make you want to keep reading. You quickly become intrigued by Adrienne/Justine as the past comes back to haunt her. Throw in a little supernatural and you have a great read. I will definitely have to read something else form this author.


Stephanie Gresham
5.0 out of 5 stars “Different, but great!”
August 10, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

I was given a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review. I will try not to give any spoilers lol. This book type was a first for me, not usually the kind I stuff I read, but I am truly glad I read it. Great story line and plot. You can relate with the characters and understand their emotions. Very descriptive. I promise this won’t be one of those books where you can figure it out half way thru, nope, he has placed a great twist in it! 100% recommended.


Neko Lilly
5.0 out of 5 stars “Fantastic!”
August 7, 2014
Format: Paperback

Gemini by Randy Eberle is a morbid tale, filled with atrocities sure to stir your heart. Not your average hack-and-slash’em gorefest by any means, but a gut-wrenching tale of a woman, tainted with hope and memories of her horrific, tragic past.

There’s not a lot I can tell you about Gemini without giving away spoilers, because the entire tale is intricately woven, an almost hypnotic spiral of events. And when I say spiral, I mean that. Just when you think things can’t get worse, that this fairytale may have a happy ending, Randy Eberle thrusts you down again.

What do you do when the decisions from your past, and perhaps decisions you had no say in at all, come back to haunt you? Come back to kill you, even? What do you choose when there is no right answer, only misery or agony?

Life is not always win-win, or even win-lose, we must pick and choose our battles. We must fight relentlessly for some of our most important victories. And even those victories don’t always come out unsoiled by the taints of life. We grasp for whatever hope we have left– for ourselves, and for our children.

Randy Eberle has captured this aspect of life quite keenly in his haunting book, Gemini, due out sometime this August.

It is a tale of tragedy, madness, mistakes… and, of course, death.

“It was as though the black sky above had opened up and birthed him, the cold rain an amniotic fluid from a celestial placenta that continued to shower Ian and the world around him.” — Gemini by Randy Eberle
I give this book five stars for being engaging from the first page, and four knives not because of the unrelenting splatter a la Shane McKenzie, but because his grisly scenes are well-chosen, well-placed, and meaningful. They’re brutal. There’s one scene specifically that when you read it, you’ll know just what I mean, a juxtaposition of “oh-hell-no-he-didn’t” and “I-get-it.” And when you find out how many drafts he wrote in his upcoming interview, you’ll see exactly why this is such an expertly crafted story.

This book is for you if…

…you’d like your innards not only spilled on the floor, but also tugged at in a most emotional fashion.

… you read your horror with your pants on, most of the time, at least.

… you’ve battled with truly heartbreaking decisions.

… you’re prepared for a serious tale of the twists and barbs within humanity.

… you don’t mind a little supernatural spin in the midst of the horrible reality of it all.

I cannot comment on the editing of this book as of yet, because I received a mostly unedited advanced reader copy.

The book is due out this month (August 2014) in hardback, trade paperback, and Kindle. An audio release will be shortly following.


Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars “Great story”
August 22, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

Once I started this book, I did not stop reading until I finished it. I will be looking at what else this author has wrote, and if he has I hope the books are as well written as this one.


Martin Allen
4.0 out of 5 stars “Time flies….”
August 8, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

The synopsis intrigued me, I was given a copy in exchange for an honest review.
This seemed to be a quick read and I felt it was a little short. Imagine my surprise when I looked at the page count and realised I was almost 200 pages in. I did guess where the story was going, but there were enough little twists to keep it enjoyable.
I could tell, even without an author bio that Stephen King was a major influence as it not only had the same feel, but also the feeling that nothing was happening until three-quarters of the way through (although the set-up pieces in those three-quarters are what help you identify with the characters, so it isn’t wasted or boring). I did stop having such enthusiasm for Stephen King for this reason but this book did keep interest, so in some ways it surpasses King.
I did feel that more could have been done with the climax, but that could be down to how quickly this seemed to fly by, and as we all know – time flies when you are having…….


Vangle Simtri
5.0 out of 5 stars “Very good read.”
August 8, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

I received an ARC from the author. I was unable to put the book down from the get go. The characters were very real, and at many points I feared for them as I read. The setting was described very well, and more than once I found myself looking up a few of the towns on the internet to get a better idea of where it was taking place. A must read if you enjoy supernatural stories in the vein of Stephen King.


Jessica
5.0 out of 5 starsI haven’t read a good book in a long time
April 10, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition

I haven’t read a good book in a long time.But from the moment I started reading this book,I couldn’t put it down.Its so intense!


Phyllis Wagner
3.0 out of 5 stars “Good book, overkill on the swear words- it took …”
December 16, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition

Good book, overkill on the swear words- it took away from the character development by there being so much of it from too many characters. Very descriptive, good imagery!


BACK TO THE TOP